Gabay, Wechsler run all-time #1 and #2 times at Mill Creek in smoking-hot Burlco Open race!!!

Reuben Frank, October 19, 2019, sjtcaweb

Austin Gabay and Ethan Wechsler, two of New Jersey's top XC runners, finished 1-2 Friday at the <u>Burlington County Open</u> with the two-fastest times in Mill Creek Park history. Gabay, a Cinnaminson senior, ran 15:39 and Wechsler, a Cherokee senior, ran 15:43. They repeated their 1-2 finish from last year and became the first runners in course history to break 16 minutes at Mill Creek twice.

The previous course record was 15:43 by Keith Krieger of Cherokee in 2003, so Wechsler tied Krieger's former course record. Gabay plans to run for Duke, where Krieger ran.

Last year, Gabay won the race in 15:56, with Wechsler second in 15:57. Those two are responsible for four of the eight sub-16 times in course history.

Wechsler now has the two-fastest non-winning times in course history.

Gabay pulled away from Wechsler going around the pond the second time, just before the turn toward the tennis courts and the final straightaway.

Cinnaminson and Cherokee runners own the nine-fastest times in course history and 14 of the top 18.

Gabay is the first Cinnaminson runner to repeat a County Open title and the eighth overall.

Here's a look at all the repeat winners in meet history:

Eric Lorenz [Holy Cross], 1986, 1987 Jason Capelli [Rancocas Valley], 1992, 1993 Brad Bisinger [Lenape], 1996, 1997 Adam Ambrus [Shawnee], 1999, 2000 Alex Yersak [Cherokee], 2006, 2007 David Forward [Shawnee], 2008, 2009 Nick Falk [Cherokee], 2014, 2015 Austin Gabay [Cinnaminson], 2018, 2019 Cherokee won its sixth straight team title. More on that later!

Although there have been minor changes in the Mill Creek 5,000-meter course, specifically the location of the bridge in the back woods just before the two-mile mark, the 5,000-meter Mill Creek course has been used for the County Open since 1986.

Here is an all-time Mill Creek performance list with all sub-16:20 times. All the times are from the Burlington County Open except those with an asterisk, which come from South Jersey sectionals, held at Mill Creek only in 1988. The County Open was held for several years at Cherokee in the late 1990s.

ALL-TIME MILL CREEK PARK LIST

15:39 ... Austin Gabay [Cinnaminson], 2019

15:43 ... Ethan Wechsler [Cherokee], 2019

15:43 ... Keith Krieger [Cherokee], 2003

15:56 ... Shawn Wilson [Cherokee], 2012

15:56 ... Austin Gabay [Cinnaminson], 2018

15:56 ... Justin Kelly [Cherokee], 2017

15:57 ... Ethan Wechsler [Cherokee], 2018

15:59 ... Mike Ungvarsky [Cinnaminson], 2016

16:01 ... Jon Anderson [Cinnaminson], 2003

16:04 ... David Forward [Shawnee], 2008

16:05 ... Bill Mason [Cinnaminson], 1998

16:06 ... Steve Grabowski [Cinnaminson], 2005

16:06 ... Urie Ridgeway [Bridgeton], 1988

16:06 ... Chris Spisak [Cherokee], 2017

16:07 ... Eric Lorenz [Holy Cross], 1986

16:08 ... Eric Lorenz [Holy Cross], 1987

16:09 ... Joe Halin [Cherokee], 1998

16:11 ... Justin Kelly [Cherokee], 2016

16:12 ... David Forward [Shawnee], 2009

16:13 ... Adam Ambrus [Shawnee], 1999

16:13 ... John Chilkotowski [Cherokee], 1986

16:13 ... Joe Shanahan [Haddonfield], 1988*

16:15 ... Mike Clayton [Rancocas Valley], 1985

16:15 ... Brad Bisinger [Lenape], 1997

16:15 ... Bill Mason [Cinnaminson], 1997

16:15 ... Nick Falk [Cherokee], 2015

16:16 ... Ben Werbos [Cherokee], 1998

16:16 ... Greg Bredeck [Cherokee], 2005

16:16 ... Connor Herr [Shawnee], 2011

16:16 ... Julian Greco [Lenape], 2012

16:16 ... Jack Shea [Cherokee], 2016

16:17 ... Steve Unger [Shawnee], 2002

16:18 ... Mike Ungvarsky [Cinnaminson], 2015

16:18 ... Rex Myers [Delran], 1988*

16:19 ... Dean Parker [Rancocas Valley], 1986

16:19 ... Jon Harris [Rancocas Valley], 1994

16:19 ... Ray Tomczuk [Delran], 1998

16:20 ... Dan Christensen [Shawnee], 1998

16:20 ... Shawn Wilson [Cherokee], 2011

16:20 ... Austin Gabay [Cinnaminson], 2017